Snowskin mooncake with red wine berry paste – Mooncake making 2014

20140727-181229-65549639.jpg

I was making these mooncakes on Friday night when my family members walked past, bewildered. “Mooncake?? So early??”

Yup that’s right.. I don’t want to repeat last year’s mistake by starting too late, stressing myself out and not able to get hold of some ingredients & equipments. Moreover, I was a first timer last year. Did not expect mooncakes to be so complicated (?). Or rather, it is difficult before u figure it out, as with everything else. Anyway, I have given myself ample time this year by starting early, recee stores, testing out ingredients (example different flavours of paste) & recipes, refine techniques etc.

This is just a trial run, so I’m making things simple. Original, no color, single filling. Last year, the skin of my snowskin mooncake turned very hard after 1-2 days of refrigeration. Disappointing. This year, I want to make sure I correct those wrongs. This year will be a search for recipes and storage methods that produce sustainable soft skin.

This recipe stayed soft on day 3. I think it is worth a share.

I brought the mooncakes to a housewarming party, and the guests loved it. (Even though my sis said white mooncakes don’t look appealing.) I did not want to add artificial colorings and flavorings so it would take some time to research the ways I can incorporate color and flavor.

So far, I am happy with this first trial. 🙂

This recipe is adapted from Alan Ooi, Mooncake Sonata recipe book.

Ingredients (makes 12-13 small mooncakes, 55g each)
90g fried glutinous rice flour (Koh fun)
125g icing sugar
25g shortening
95ml cold water

Fillings: red wine berry paste 360-390g (store bought, from KCT)

Method
1. Sift koh fun and icing sugar together.
2. Rub shortening into mixture until it resembles breadcrumbs.
3. Add cold water and mix well till soft dough forms.
4. Leave the dough to rest for about 30 minutes, under cling wrap.
5. Weigh 25g of dough, roll into a ball. U should get 12-13 balls.
6. Weigh 30g of filling, roll into balls.
7. Flatten dough and roll out into a rough circle, thinner at the sides.
8. Wrap the filling in it, and form a ball.
9. Dust the wrapped ball with a little koh fun. Press into the mould, detach the ring and push the mooncake out.
10. Store in airtight container, in the refrigerator (not freezer).

Notes:
– I read somewhere that resting the dough helps to make it more smooth and pliable.
– In my house of non-sweet-lovers, the dough is too much for them. I’m not sure how reducing the sugar will affect the dough texture and pliability though. Shall try next time.
– My sis commented that white mooncakes look inedible and mouldy. (Especially with dark red filling) I am going to experiment with different colors and flavors.
– It is important to keep the mooncakes in airtight container in the fridge. So far I do not need to thaw before serving. Today is day 3 and the mooncakes stay soft.
– The dough is on the dry side but pliable and easy to manage. It “cracks” with rolling. Just paste it back.
– The sealed side is uneven. To produce beautiful prints, I thought I should let the smooth side go into he mould. But the bottoms all turn out pretty ugly. I read somewhere that the seal side should go into the mould face. As I mould, I was thinking how come those store bought mooncakes have smooth beautiful bottoms. Maybe this could be the answer.
– Store bought paste I have worked with are so far easy to work with (Phoon Huat, KCT)

Some of the places to get supplies for Mooncake making:
Sunlik, KCT, Phoon Huat, Bake King, Ailin

3 comments

Leave a Reply

