Mango Snowskin Mooncakes – without shortening

Could have done better with the wrapping but it was kind of late so.. (excuses lol..) Uneven wrapping but the mooncake was really nice. Taste matters most, right? The black dot is due to a speck of dust on my iphone, not on the mooncake itself – seems like a lot of people have the same problem.

 

Finally made the mango snowskin mooncakes. Finally found a keeper – much healthier, without shortening, real fruit used, stay soft after days.

I definitely prefer snowskin mooncakes to traditional ones, given that the latter are so heavy on the palate and digestive system (in the olden days people used lard in traditional baked mooncakes – some still do that now). But after knowing how to make both kinds of mooncakes, I realised there is no “healthier alternative”. Just eat ba.. lol.

That is, of course, until I found this recipe. It calls for the use of olive oil instead of shortening. I still find shortening intimidating. First of all, it does not look edible. Second, most snowskin mooncake calls for raw shortening. Yes, the shortening is used to combine the ingredients and it is not cooked. Somehow, I do not feel safe eating too much of that. But I cant always make things that I do not feel like eating. So, I started on a quest to find recipes that omits the use of shortening.

Came across a really beautiful creation by Sugar & Everything Nice first. She made beautiful strawberry snowskin mooncakes (I wonder why there aren’t many strawberry creations in the market, given the popularity of the fruit.) But I was a little confused about the 37.5g of flour used. I forgot about it, and went to research about which pastes are nice for snowskin and what other flavours are people coming up for their snowskin mooncakes.

There were many raves about the mango paste sold at Kwang Cheong Thye. Given that mid-autumn festival is approaching, KCT actually sells 500g paste so I went down to take a look. After tasting the mango, I cant resist the temptation to buy. 500g is just enough to make more than a batch, so I do not mind getting it for experiment. Each pack costs around $7-8, depending on what flavour you buy.

So I wanted to make some mango snowskin, without shortening, and with real fruits. Then I found the recipe by baking scientist. Btw, her recipe is actually adapted from Sugar & Everything Nice. haha… I adjusted the calculations to in an attempt to finish up the 500g paste – it makes about 16 for my 55g mould. However, the dough was quite sticky to handle (but easy to handle with more dusting, trust me) and I ended up with only 13 mooncakes as most of it was lost to my palms and surfaces.

I am thankful I found this recipe. It looks much more edible and I know it’s something I do not mind eating more.

Ingredients

  • 105g fried glutinous flour (koh fun)
  • 112g icing sugar
  • 126g mango puree
  • 42g warm water
  • 21g canola oil
  • Filling of your choice (used mango paste from KCT) – about 390g
  • Lots of extra fried glutinous flour for dusting

Equipment

Mooncake mould – for 55g

 

Method

  1. Sift flour and sugar together. Mix well.
  2. Combine puree, warm water and oil in another bowl.
  3. Pour wet ingredients into the sifted mixture and mix fast in one direction as it comes together as dough very quickly.
  4. Knead 20 seconds and form a ball (I omitted this step)
  5. Divide dough into 25g each. Form balls roughly.
  6. Divide filling into 30g each.
  7. Dust hands with flour constantly, flatten dough and wrap the fillings in it.
  8. Dust wrapped dough with flour and push into mould, taking care of edges.
  9. Store in airtight container. Chill in fridge for 3 hours before serving.

 

Notes:

  • Dough comes together very quickly. Make sure to stir fast enough.
  • It was quite sticky so ensure to have lots of fried glutinous flour for dusting. I was dusting my hands and the dough constantly.
  • But the dough was much more malleable than the other recipes with shortening that I tried. Not sure is it because of oil.
  • The recipe calls for quick mixing to ensure smooth dough. There was no smoothness so to speak of as the dough was sticky to hands (it does not stick on plastic sheet which I used to cover my table top). Do not worry about it; just use more flour to dust hands and dough as it turned out more smooth with the wrapping and moulding.
  • By calculation, the dough should be enough to make 16 mooncakes. But most of it probably gone to sticking on my hands and other places.. lol.. Ended up with 13.
  • Not sure is it because of similar colours of dough and fillings, but this time, my flower mould gives very good results. The dough seemed to not break too much like the ones I tried. It is definitely on the “wetter” side.
  • Mango puree was made by simply blending fresh mango in blender. It was so fresh I can see fiber in the snowskin while wrapping.
Leave a Reply

