Crunchy Almond Cookies

Recipe at end of page

I first started baking these Chinese New Year goodies 3 years back, armed with a curiosity for “How are my beloved CNY goodies made?”. I explored my favourite peanut cookies and almond cookies, and the classic pineapple tarts. And I was tired enough. My family was intrigued by the process of making the cookies, which was something new to us, and everyone was eager to try the product. My mum was pretty impressed and decided to order 10 containers of peanut cookies and almond cookies each for her friends, despite that she did not like people “messing” her kitchen. She paid for the ingredients while I do the things I like.

That was a busy year.

While looking for recipes, I chanced upon this recipe, Crunchy Melty Almond Cookies by j3ss kitch3n. Her description of the cookies and the way she presented in pictures were so tempting, that I knew I had to try it. I baked about 10 containers of cookies (in addition to the 20 my mum ordered) for my friends and then-boyfriend. The response was overwhelming. Everybody likes it. I continued to bake for free the next two years.

This year, my house was chosen for the Home Improvement Program just one week before Chinese New Year. Great. I decided not to bake anything. Moreover, I quitted my job which I had thought of leaving for years. It was not wise to spend too much. Some of my friends were the most supportive people ever. During a meetup in Jan for a friend’s birthday, I announced the quitting of my job, and they started to come up with ideas to earn money for me. The group unanimously suggested me to sell my CNY cookies since CNY was around the corner. They thought the cookies were good and one of them even wanted me to bake some samples to bring to office so she could help me promote. Very enthusiastic of them. I did not follow up as I knew mum would be upset as after HIP she would need the kitchen too.

Somehow, I ended up taking orders and occupied the kitchen while mum was doing her CNY shopping (with her consent of course).

After a few years of practice, I have become better at moulding the cookies. I figured if I wanted to make it a business, this is a good time to put it to test. I also need to be precise in every step, from the sources of ingredients and containers, price (good quality and not too expensive), size of cookies, rather than using my freestyle methods to estimate. This time, each cookie weighs 8g (+/- 0.5g as my weighing scale rounds to the nearest whole number). Why 8g? I think its a lucky number 🙂

Mix all the dry ingredients together. Incorporate the oil and mix it fast. It may look crumbly but when u pushed the dough with the back of spoon, the dough comes together. I never have to add extra oil.

My uncle was horrified when he saw the cookies on the left. I told him it was work of art. Just kidding. It was easier to weigh out the 8g each, before shaping into neat balls (picture on the right).

Finished product

The cookies were crunchy and slightly “fluffy” when hot from the oven

Crunchy Almond Cookies

makes approximately 60 cookies, 8g each

Ingredients:

150g self-raising flour

80g icing sugar (reduced to 60g)

80g diced almond (blanched)

80g ground almond (blanched)

100ml corn oil

½ tsp almond essence (omitted)

Egg yolk for brushing (omitted)

Method:

Sift flour and sugar together. Add almonds and mix well. Mix almond essence to corn oil and stir well. Mix both wet and dry ingredients to form a soft dough. Shape into small round balls and place in paper casing. Bake at 170oC, for 15-20 min or till slightly brown.

Notes:

  • You can make the self-raising flour as shown. Self-raising flour recipe:

1 cup flour (125g)

¼ tsp salt

1½ tsp baking powder

  • Even with reduced amount of sugar (60g instead of 80g), there are people who still find it too sweet. Majority thinks the sweetness is acceptable though.
  • Toasting the diced almond before mixing might give a better flavor.
  • Without almond essence, almond taste is still strong. It is quite good as almond essence gives an artificial taste sometimes.
  • Using oil with neutral taste like corn oil or grapeseed oil is preferable to those with strong flavour like olive oil.

 

I am submitting this post to “My Treasured Recipes #5 – Chinese New Year Goodies (Jan/Feb)” hosted by Miss B of Everyone Eats Well in Flanders and co-hosted by Charmaine of Mimi Bakery House.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

