Minestrone Soup

IMG_2367

I swear it looks totally delicious (and taste delicious) and way much better than this mash.. This is taken after microwaving my lunch. Yes, I am slowly settling into my new workplace, which is a pain in the ass to get to, as any 1hr+ bus ride almost equal discomfort for sure. Multiply it by 2, then 5 days per week. After the bus ride, it is another short bus ride OR 20 min walk. It is a big inconvenience.. which I overlooked before accepting the job offer.

On top of that, there is an infamous canteen in the area. Infamous because it is the one and only. Once, I bought watermelon from the fruit & drinks stall. While the watermelon looks like it has been left overnight and not fresh, it costs 20cents more expensive compared to similar places in Singapore. And, because I requested to cut the fruit (I cant figure how to eat the huge melon without squashing it against my face.. not fun in the early morning. Perhaps the auntie finds it a good way to earn extra money, and it is too hassle for her, she decides to charge me extra 10 cents. Nice. While 10 cents is a meagre amount, I decided not to patronise her ever again. Too bad that she will lose the many more cents she would have earned from me (whenever I might buy from her out of convenience), just because she wants to earn this “10 cents”. It is not a huge amount really… what a shame.

I have recently become vegetarian, after a trip to India, and trying to keep things this way. The only option in the canteen is Indian food, which by the way also serves meat. Hmm, excuses aside, I actually do not wish to let others decide my health anymore. I want to know exactly what I eat. I want to eat better and healthier. So I decide to make my own.

This minestrone soup is a spinoff from the first result of google search. From Food network. My sis says it looks weird with lady fingers, and she doesn’t eat that. But I actually find it good. I decided at the spur of moment to cook this, hence I was not able to get some of the ingredients.. Anyway, I think it turns out pretty good.

I kept it in fridge and microwaved it for lunch. Keeping some in the freezer too.

Ingredients:

1 large onion

2 stalks of celery

1 large carrot

5 lady fingers

4 cloves of garlic

2 tomatoes

1 large can of baked beans (with the sauce)

1 large can of diced tomatoes

1 cup of pasta

6 cups of broth or water

Method:

  1. Dice all vegetables. Mince the garlic.
  2. Saute onion in a little oil, until it softens
  3. Add in carrot and celery and continue to stir fry.
  4. Add in the lady fingers and saute for a while.
  5. Add in garlic and saute for about 30 seconds, taking care to prevent browning of garlic, which would cause it to be bitter.
  6. Stir in tomatoes and diced tomatoes, until slightly reduced.
  7. Add baked beans, pasta and broth. Bring to boil, and then lower to simmer and cook until vegetables turn tender.
  8. For seasoning, add some salt and pepper. Enjoy!

Notes:

  • Used baked beans as I could not find any beans at that hour.. Not a staple in Singapore. It turned out pretty good, but probably not very healthy..?
  • Wanted to add cabbage but the cabbage left at that late hour did not look fresh, hence added lady fingers instead. If using cabbage instead, there is no need to stir fry. Just add it together with broth.
  • Lady fingers sounds like a weird combi, but I figured that I really liked the vegetable. It turned out well. Just make sure to stir fry it, so that it will be more fragrant, before adding broth.
  • With only water (instead of broth) and no salt, the soup tasted pretty decent already. I think it’s because of the sauces from the cans, which are salty enough. But extra salt just brings it up to another level. (unhealthy I know..)
Leave a Reply

